行业动态

下一代光纤电缆可能会在空中

浏览次数 : 1771
更新时间 : 2020-12-10 17:16:52
来自南安普顿大学的一个研究小组的一项新研究表明,具有中空中心的纤维可以减少功率损失。 

在这项发表在《自然-通讯》上的研究中,来自该大学光电子研究中心(ORC)的团队表明,通过空气填充的纤维引导光线提供了一种潜在的解决方案,以克服玻璃散射设置的衰减限制,这对需要较短波长的应用的性能构成了限制。

研究人员创造了三种不同的中空芯纤维,在技术相关的660、850和1060nm波长周围,其损耗与固体玻璃纤维相当或更低。该团队认为,较低的衰减为量子通信、数据传输和激光功率传输的进步提供了潜力。

ORC的Francesco Poletti教授说:"自20世纪70年代以来,许多替代的玻璃类型和波导技术已经被研究出来,试图解决这个问题。我们的研究结果表明,在当今光学技术中使用的各种波长下,中空芯光纤具有优于当前光纤的潜力。它们不仅具有更低的衰减,还能承受更高的激光强度,例如熔化岩石和钻探油井所需的激光强度,还能生产出更高效的激光器用于制造'。

在ERC项目 "Lightpipe "的资助下,开发这项技术的团队正在继续努力提高光纤的光学性能,同时以更低的成本生产更长的长度。光电研究中心主任David Payne补充道:"光纤的传输容量非常大,我们从未想过会达到将其全部用完的地步。但在过去的五到十年里,我们意识到,我们现在已经接近这样做了,而Covid-19的影响则进一步加速了这一进程。这意味着,我们再也不能通过调整传统光纤来挖掘更多的产能,而必须采用安装大量新光缆的大锤方式。

Poletti总结道:'我们相信,我们可能终于找到了一种解决方案,它有可能补充并在许多情况下取代半个世纪以来一直是家庭和商业应用的主流的全固态硅纤维。
Copyright © 2021 vsolcn.com - All Rights Reserved.

Industry News

Next generation fibre cables could be in the air

Views : 1846
Update time : 2020-12-10 17:16:52

A new study from a team of researchers from the University of Southampton has demonstrated that fibres with a hollowed out centre could reduce loss of power.

In the study, which was published in Nature Communications, the team from the university’s Optoelectronics Research Centre (ORC) showed that luminary through air filled fibres offers a possible solution to beat the attenuation limit set by the glass’s scattering, which poses a limitation to the performance of applications that need shorter wavelengths.

The researchers created three different hollow core fibres, with losses comparable or less than that achieved in solid glass fibres around technologically relevant wavelengths of 660, 850, and 1060nm. The team believes that the lower attenuation offers the potential for advances in quantum communications, data transmission, and laser power delivery.

Professor Francesco Poletti from the ORC said: ‘Many alternative glass types and waveguide technologies are investigated since the 1970s to undertake to unravel this problem. Our findings show that hollow core fibres have the potential to outperform the present optical fibres at various wavelengths utilized in optical technology today. Not only do they need lower attenuation, they will also withstand higher laser intensities, like those needed to melt rocks and drill oil wells, also as produce more efficient lasers for manufacturing.’

The team that developed this technology under funding from the ERC project Lightpipe is constant its work on improving the optical performance of the fibres, while producing longer lengths at a lower cost. David Payne, director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre, added: ‘The transmission capacity of optical fibres is so large that we never thought we’d reach the purpose where we might use it all up. But within the last five to 10 years, we’ve realised that we’re now on the brink of doing just that and therefore the impact of Covid-19 has accelerated this further. this suggests that not can we tweak conventional fibres to mine more capacity but must resort to the sledgehammer approach of putting in huge numbers of latest fibre cables.’

Concluded Poletti: ‘We are convinced that we'd have finally identified an answer with the potential to enrich , and in many cases, replace all-solid silica fibres that are the mainstay in domestic and commercial applications for half a century.’

Copyright © 2021 vsolcn.com - All Rights Reserved.